I’m Sitting There Thinking …

We managed Mad Max and All the President’s Men in our 1,001 movies drive tonight. Thought Mad Max was okay. Some of the car chase sequences were great, but I wouldn’t say it’s aged particularly well. Interested to read the blurb in the book on why it’s considered one of the 1,001 movies to see before I die. I know it’s not that fair to compare the two, but I much preferred All the President’s Men. It made me very keen to do some reading on the Watergate scandal when I get a chance, as well as check out more movies with Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman. One thing that stuck with me was how much the music reminded me of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross’s score for The Social Network. One of the highlights for me, in both films actually, was the subtlety of the score.

Ally shared this video of Charlie Nicholas sitting there thinking the other day, which made me laugh out loud. I try to watch Soccer Saturday every weekend, and I’ve never noticed this!

Also of note: the new Sólstafir album, Ótta, has been uploaded to Spotify (all Season of Mist stuff is uploaded on midnight going into Friday). Terrorizer gave it album of the month status in issue #252, so I’m really looking forward to checking it out in the morning. Their last album, 2011’s Svartir Sandar, was a real highlight for me that year.

Author: Andrew R Craddock

Metal and Spotify enthusiast, freelance copy-editor, writer, jolly nihilist.

Leave a Reply

