Album of the Day: Fuck the Facts – Die Miserable

A new heavy album every day

I think the penny may have dropped on what I’d like to make one of the most prominent features on the blog going into the future. With the amount of music I listen to every day, I’ve been thinking of the best way to post regularly to the blog in a way that incorporates my two main interests: heavy music and Spotify. And some more advice I’ve picked up recently: don’t go on and on, but keep it succinct. So I figured, what could be better than a few words about an album I’ve listened to that day, every day, hopefully helping any readers to discover, or indeed rediscover, some excellent heavy albums?

So, welcome to the first of many (and more importantly daily) Album of the Day posts. After this lengthy introductory post, I’ll limit each subsequent post to some basic info, a brief description of why I’m picking it, and some Spotify URI info to allow you to start listening straight from here. I hope you enjoy the albums I share; it’d be great to hear from anyone that’s getting something out of these posts.

  • Artist: Fuck the Facts
  • Album: Die Miserable
  • Year: 2011
  • Label: Relapse
  • Genre: Grindcore

A few fought and brought down barriers towards advancement, encouraged civil disobedience. while the rest, with nothing to look forward to, blotted out their feelings with tranquilizers.

It’s been a few years since Ontario’s Fuck the Facts dropped this monolithic slab of grindcore on the world via Relapse, and it’s lost none of its relevance or urgency since then. For me, the spotlight with this band is always on their incredible vocalist, Mel Mongeon, since I think her vocal chords are what lift what might have been an otherwise great grindcore band to the rarer prospect of an amazing grindcore band. The levels of experimentalism in the music are also, to say the least, a welcome change of pace (literally) from the blink-and-you’ll-miss-it style that so many of the genre’s more mediocre bands tend to follow. If Die Miserable passed you by on release, now’s the time to rectify that. I’d be surprised if it didn’t grab you at some stage with its masterfully crafted brand of 21st century grindcore for the beaten down. Essential stuff.

Author: Andrew R Craddock

Metal and Spotify enthusiast, freelance copy-editor, writer, jolly nihilist.

Leave a Reply

